Early Years

Early Years Foundation Stage including Reception and Nursery:

Reception children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum. Play underpins all development and learning for young children and therefore your child will take part in indoor and outdoor play experiences that will help them learn and develop their enquiring mind while they are having fun.

Learning covers the following seven areas, Children should develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development. These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design.

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. The curriculum is designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child’s unique needs and interests. Please keep us informed about your child’s interests and what they have been doing.